Aboot Games

www.abootgames.com

Episode 29 – E3’s Demise!

Posted by abootgames on August 7, 2006

Well I am late posting for another week. Today is a civic holiday in Ontario and I am took advantage of sleeping in.

This week we discuss the fall of E3. A great deal for an Xbox 360. We played a couple of good games, and a couple of train wrecks,

Direct Download Link

Announcements:

Death of E3

Future shop mega deal for xbox 360 – http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?sku_id=0665000FS10077602&catid=23363&logon=&langid=EN&test%5Fcookie=1

Mini Reviews:

Resident Evil 4 (PS2) – The best resident evil yet. I just wish I ahd the chainsaw controller. The bad camera angles are gone replaced with a constant over the shoulder camera and some control with the right analog stick. A lots of unlockables – extra costumes, playabale characters, different game modes.

Kao the Kangaroo: Round 2 – The second in the series there is very little new in this game. It’s pretty much a standard 3D platformer the combines free roaming and on rails levels. To tell you the truth during this game I couldn’t help thinking it was more or less a rip off of Crash Bandicoot…the original; which isn’t that bad a thing considering that that was a great game…10 years ago. It does improve upon it’s eerily similar counterpart, most of the boards are linear free roaming levels; which means that you can go just aboot anywhere there is only one way to go. There are puzzles built into gameplay which I found obvious, but I’m considerably older than the intend audience. The plot is the soft sort of plot we’ve sen in everything from Sonic to Spyro…save the animals from the hunter/wizard thingy. Graphically it’s uninspired but that doesn’t matter because it’s obviously designed for kids. The humour is very inoccent; although one farmer does ask you to go out and protect his ‘shrooms from a badger family… The sound is where the game starts to hurt. Specifically the voice work. Every species of animal has the same voice. On the first level you run around in Beaver’s forest and everytime you meet a beaver they have the same voice. That being said it is a GC games and it has full voices so I guess it’s a start. Buy it for your kids if your looking for I nice platformer that won’t offend any sensibilities and provide a decent challenge level. DO NOT bu it for yourself, don’t rent it.
Dot Hack part 1 – infection – A interesting little RPG that simulates an MMORPG. You play as a person playing a game. Your main interface is a desktop with various “programs”, email / news reader / The World. This is the first in a 4 part series, each play pretty much the same, and each come with a DVD movie disk that adds to the story.

Jaws Unleashed – I’m sure this is going to be an unpopular review but here goes. This was one of those oh my god I can’t keep playing this games. It’s only fair to say that I’m not a big fan of the movies this based on or playing the bad guy in games. Ok so you play the shark. You swim around surprisingly closed underwater levels trying to eat and not be eaten/shot/blowed up real good. I had to retry the tutorial about 10 times to get the hang of this thing and in fact when I did pass the tutorial it was because I skipped a bunch of small shark infested things. To sum up my entire experience with this game: I started the tutorial, learned to swim, eat, bash things with my head, smack things with my tail, and use my shark vision (sort of a matixy kinda thing), I ate some divers, I ate some beach bathers, I ate some boats, Idestroyed some peers by eating them, just when I thought this kinda sucks the game ovffered me the chance to level up my shark???, and then the game froze! If playing the big shark swimming around the ocean eating various things is appealingto you you will like this game. If not you won’t.

Download: SF2: HF
Releases:

DS – GBA – Game cube – nothin

PC –

Glow Worm – puzzle game – free demo download

PS2 – PSP – nothin

Xbox – nothin

Xbox 360 –

Dead Rising – interesting zombie game – very open ended –

News:

E3 is no more as we know it. Moved to July. Renamed “E3 Media Festival”. Smaller event http://biz.gamedaily.com/industry/feature/?id=13376

Minnesato violent game bill deamed unconstitutional. http://biz.gamedaily.com/industry/feature/?id=13382

Leave a Reply

 
